All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review

Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Jon Irabagon Quartet: Dr. Quixotic’s Traveling Exotics

Mark Corroto By

Sign in to view read count
It's easy imagine Hollywood producers putting together a comic book superhero movie when listening to a recording by the saxophonist Jon Irabagon. We know that after joining Moppa Elliott's Mostly Other People Do The Killing and winning the 2008 Thelonious Monk Saxophone Competition, he decided to use his super powers for good instead of evil. Like that young spider guy, he had to learn exactly what his powers entailed. Moving on from MOPDTK, Irabagon has collaborated with others with special powers in the Dave Douglas Quintet and with Mary Halvorson and Barry Altschul, turning heads with his ability to leap tall intervals and bear the heaviest chord progressions with ease.

This quartet recording takes on that Avengers feel with his pseudonym, Dr. Quixotic and his band Traveling Exotics, aka fellow superhero musicians. Irabagon assembled a mighty cast which includes pianist Luis Perdomo, bassist Yasushi Nakamura, and drummer Rudy Royston. Their previous release was Behind The Sky (Irabbagast, 2015), and included trumpeter Tom Harrell. Here, the guest is Tim Hagans, a trumpeter who shares Irabagon's appreciation for the jazz canon, but is also inclined to fire a shot or two forward.

Compositions like "Emotional Physics/The Things" and "Taipei Personality" typify the unit's approach. Time becomes a pliant substance, accelerated beyond human limits that the quartet and Hagans just perambulate with ease. With this barrier broken, the musicians can also move back and forth within jazz history, reimagining Joe Henderson/Kenny Dorham exchanges within the complex web of Irabagon's arrangements. The saxophonist's approach has always been one of "try, if you can, to follow me." With Perdomo, Nakamura, and Royston that requirement is fulfilled. With the great powers Irabagon possesses, comes great responsibility. Thank you Dr. Quixotic.

Track Listing: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Week; Emotional Physics/The Things; You Own Your Own; The Bo’Ness Monster; Pretty Like North Dakota; Taipei Personality.

Personnel: Jon Irabagon: tenor saxophone; Luis Perdomo: piano; Yasushi Nakamura: bass; Rudy Royston: drums; Tim Hagans: trumpet.

Title: Dr. Quixotic’s Traveling Exotics | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Irabbagast


comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles

Read Uplift The People CD/LP/Track Review
Uplift The People
by John Sharpe
Published: August 21, 2018
Read A New Shade Of Blue CD/LP/Track Review
A New Shade Of Blue
by Chris May
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Rabbits on the Run CD/LP/Track Review
Rabbits on the Run
by Glenn Astarita
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Imaginary Numbers CD/LP/Track Review
Imaginary Numbers
by John Sharpe
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Point Blank CD/LP/Track Review
Point Blank
by Chris May
Published: August 20, 2018
Read Tell Me The Truth CD/LP/Track Review
Tell Me The Truth
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: August 20, 2018
Read "Straight Ahead" CD/LP/Track Review Straight Ahead
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: March 26, 2018
Read "Plight & Premonition / Flux & Mutability" CD/LP/Track Review Plight & Premonition / Flux & Mutability
by Geno Thackara
Published: July 10, 2018
Read "Invisible Touch At Taktlos Zurich" CD/LP/Track Review Invisible Touch At Taktlos Zurich
by John Sharpe
Published: May 26, 2018
Read "Love & Surrender" CD/LP/Track Review Love & Surrender
by Geannine Reid
Published: June 9, 2018
Read "Barxeta II" CD/LP/Track Review Barxeta II
by Geno Thackara
Published: August 19, 2018
Read "Brightbird" CD/LP/Track Review Brightbird
by Henning Bolte
Published: March 19, 2018