Coffee and Croissants with Oddgier Berg

Nick Davies By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
In this episode, special guest pianist Oddgeir Berg talks about his trio's album Before Dawn [Ozella Music] and the strength and depth of the Finnish jazz scene. The playlist includes lots of new music from artists like Cloudmakers 5 through to Nat Birchall.


  • Cloudmakers 5 "The Past Is Another Country" from Chinese Butterfly (Whirlwind) 2:07
  • Cody Carpenter "Face the Future" from Cody Carpenter's Interdependence (Blue Canoe Records) 12:37
  • Brenda Navarrete "Anana Oye" from Mi Munda (Alma Records) 17:15
  • Jason Marsalis and the 21st Century Trad Band "Ratio Man Strikes Again" from Melody Reimagined: Book 1 (Basin Street Records) 22:23
  • Kristina Koller "Devil May Care" from Perception (Self-Produced) 29:00
  • Nat Birchall "Humility" from Cosmic Language (Jazzman) 33.43
  • Alessandro Alessandroni "Underground Disco" from Lost & Found (Four Files) 43:03
  • Kevin Sun Trio "Air Purifier" from Trio (Endectomorph Music) 46:08
  • Interview with Oddgeir Berg 57:28
  • Unknown "Golden" from Promo (Self-Produced) 1:28:02
  • Kristina Koller "You Go to My Head" from Perception (Self-Produced) 1:35:19
  • Michel Legrand "Harcourt Nights" from From Oscar with Love (Mack Avenue) 1:39:15
  • Renee Rosnes "Love Ballad" from From Oscar with Love (Mack Avenue) 1:43:45
  • Oliver Jones & Dave Young "Why Think About Tomorrow" from From Oscar with Love (Mack Avenue) 1:51:21
  • Oliver Jones & Dave Young "Celine's Waltz" from From Oscar With Love (Mack Avenue) 2:01:07
  • Menagerie "Evolution" from The Arrow of Time (Self-Produced) 2:09:58
  • Kevin Sun Trio "Three Ravens" from Trio (Endectomorph Music) 2:15:37
  • Alessandro Alessandroni "Sea Breeze" from Lost & Found (Four Files) 2:22:432

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Past Grapplin'

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Top Ten Kennedy Center Musical Moments
Read Shai Maestro: Human, All Too Human
Read Pilar Arcos: An Extraordinary Life
Read Nathaniel Cross: Deep Vibrations

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.