Burning Ghosts, Alister Spence and More

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

Expat bassist Mike Parker’s Unified Theory is living in Poland now and making great music with his Trio Theory. This episode kicks off with a pair of tunes from Shiny Objects, Dark Places, his latest album. You'll also hear Burning Ghosts with their musical expression of anger and distaste for the current state of American politics. The second hour features Australia's Alister Spence continued collaboration with the great Satoko Fujii, conducting her Orchestra Kobe through a set of distinctly original music. The final set has new music from Europe: Italian pianist Luca Sguera and the Scandinavian super group The Way Ahead. And there's plenty more throughout this edition of One Man's Jazz.


  • Mike Parker Unified Theory "Goldfinger" from Shiny Objects, Dark Places (Self-released) 0:00
  • Host speaks 08:42
  • Mike Parker Unified Theory "Arctica" from Shiny Objects, Dark Places (Self-released) 10:59
  • Philip Zoubek Trio "The Long Fade" from Outside (WhyPlayJazz) 21:24
  • Oestetik " Recollection Of A Dream" from Coincidences (Self-released) 27:20
  • Host speaks 34:47
  • Burning Ghosts "Fanfare For The End Of Truth" from American Circus (Orenda) 36:49
  • Satoko Fujii Trio "The Way To Get There" from Towards, To West (Enja) 44:44
  • Host speaks 51:51
  • Disorder at the Border "Comme Il Faut" from Disorder at the Border Plays Ornette (NotTwo) 53:28
  • Kuba Pluzek Quartet "Veehighster -Piece For Critics Part 3" from Froots (For Tune) 1:00:08
  • Host speaks 1:06:28
  • Alister Spence & Satoko Fujii Orchestra Kobe "Part 2 (Meeting)" from Imagine Meeting You Here (Alister Spence Music) 1:09:22
  • David Chevallier "Les Folies De Cécile" from Pyromanes (Le Son Art) 1:18:41
  • Magnus Nystrom & Bo Wicklund "Twisted Skyline" from Turbulence (Footprint) 1:26:26
  • Host speaks 1:35:07
  • Ambrose Akinmusire "A Blooming Blood Fruit In A Hoodie" from Origami Harvest (Blue Note) 1:36:20
  • Devin Gray "The Wire" from Dirigo Rataplan II (Rataplan) 1:46:55
  • Host speaks 1:52:22
  • Quinsin Nachoff & Flux "Path Of Totality" from Path Of Totality (Whirlwind) 1:52:58
  • Christoph Irniger Pilgrim "Crosswinds" from Crosswinds (Intakt) 1:59:25
  • Host speaks 2:08:19
  • Luca Sguera "AKA" from AKA (Auand) 2:09:57
  • Quantum Trio "Particles" from Quality Studio Live (Self-released) 2:16:59
  • Stephen Haynes & Damon Smith "Indigo" from Search Versus Research (Balance Point Acoustics) 2:26:59
  • < li>Host speaks 2:34:04
  • The Way Ahead "Lakenskrekk" from Bells, Ghosts And Other Saints (Clean Feed) 2:35:51
  • Josh Sinton's Predicate Trio "Propulse" from Making Bones (Iluso) 2:41:38
  • Host speaks 2:46:59
  • Adam Kolker & Russ Lossing "Gnash" from Whispers And Secrets (Fresh Sound) 2:48:45

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.