Satoko Fujii: Aspiration

Franz A. Matzner By

Sign in to view read count
A descent into minimalist precision and emotive texture, Satoku Fuji's Aspiration bequeaths listeners with the depths of creativity that stems from residing on the edge of the avant-garde for decades. Which is precisely where music pioneers pianist Fuji, long-time trumpet partner Natsuki Tamura, electronica experimentalist Ikue Mori, and innovator Wadada Leo Smith remain.

The album's six pulsating compositions are the result of the collaboration between these four artists as conceived by Fuji, but were born out of the participants parallel forays into the frontiers of creative music and the shared ground developed as their paths inevitably crossed over the years.

From the album's first track "Intent" to the closing "Stillness," each performer's distinct voice is evident, just as one can identify aspects of each players approach as a composer. Yet despite these identifiable elements, the combined sonic texture ultimately produced emerges with a singular clarity, like crystalline structures arrayed against a backdrop of electronic seascapes.

One distinctive feature of the album is the lugubrious pace at which the compositions unfold. Fostered by Mori's soundscapes and textural infusions, which have antecedents in the minimalist world of electronica developed by artists like Main and Aphex Twin, the album floats in an ethereal otherworldliness, with Tamura, Fuji, and Smith's explosive interjections, patient lines, and pointalistic eruptions manifesting like neon lightening in a tumultuous, darkened sky.

Overall, the endeavor forces hyper-close listening which is rewarded by being transported into a multi-layered universe of sound, one best absorbed by allowing it to permeate, rather than attempting to analyze its many contours, oblique declines, rarified atmospheres, and variegated gravitational fields.

Track Listing: Intent; Liberation; Floating; Aspiration; Evolution; Stillness.

Personnel: Wadada Leo Smith: trumpet; Natsuki Tamura: trumpet; Satoko Fujii: piano; Ikue Mori: electronics.

Title: Aspiration | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Libra Records


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read The Study of Touch CD/LP/Track Review The Study of Touch
by Karl Ackermann
Published: October 20, 2017
Read Another North CD/LP/Track Review Another North
by Roger Farbey
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Gledalec CD/LP/Track Review Gledalec
by John Sharpe
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Flux Reflux CD/LP/Track Review Flux Reflux
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Christmas With Champian CD/LP/Track Review Christmas With Champian
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Harmony of Difference CD/LP/Track Review Harmony of Difference
by Phil Barnes
Published: October 18, 2017
Read "Second Stream" CD/LP/Track Review Second Stream
by Troy Dostert
Published: January 26, 2017
Read "Milestones" CD/LP/Track Review Milestones
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: July 31, 2017
Read "Beauty & Truth" CD/LP/Track Review Beauty & Truth
by Karl Ackermann
Published: March 13, 2017
Read "Reach" CD/LP/Track Review Reach
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: April 19, 2017
Read "2016" CD/LP/Track Review 2016
by Chris Mosey
Published: November 13, 2016
Read "Open Book" CD/LP/Track Review Open Book
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: August 17, 2017

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.