InterStatic: Arise

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
UK-reared keyboardist Roy Powell (Mumpbeak, Naked Truth)has called Norway home for several years while serving as a prime motivator for this futuristic UK-based, record label via sideman duties, and co-leading groups such as Interstatic. The band pushes the envelope yet again on this psycho, acid-rock slant on the jazz organ trio format. Nonetheless, the trio ups the ante a bit on its third album, featuring ECM Records recording artist Jacob Young and notable session drummer Jarle Vespestad. A little genre-busting goes a long way, as the musicians project a no-holds-barred line of attack, incited by Davis' old school like wah-wah guitar lines and Powell's gravely and steamy organ parts, summoning memories of the late, Larry Young.

The musicians firmly lock into a hodgepodge of hard-edged grooves, eliciting notions of a renegade jazz group churning out memorable licks and torrid cookers, all encapsulated by their deterministic gait. Vespestad's limber execution and pounding beats add the required oomph. Throughout, Davis' hybrid jazz-rock lines, spiced with steely chop chords and fractured developments also teeter in the jazz fusion space, notably on "Alpha Dog," also signaling a linear Ornette Coleman style primary motif.

They slam-dunk "Frank'll Fix It" with a popping soul rock vibe amid several blitzing unison runs. Here, the trio stretches out and presents several variations of a musical design. Each piece stands on its own, complemented by movements where Young goes for the proverbial jugular with his 60s style psychedelic fuzz-toned distortion notes and passages that skirt progressive rock. Ultimately, the artists never look back and kick the proceedings into overdrive along the way. Its music with a vengeance topped off by these strong compositions, equating to a lengthy shelf life in the entertainment department.

Track Listing

Doozy Mugwump Blues; Caerbannog; Alpha Dog; Iwato; Frank'll Fix It; In the Beginning; Alexa; Wonderfall; Doozy (reprise).


Roy Powell: Hammond organ; Jacob Young: electric guitar; Jarle Vespestad: drums.

Album information

Title: Arise | Year Released: 2014 | Record Label: RareNoiseRecords



View events near Oslo
Jazz Near Oslo
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Get App | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and through our retail affiliations you'll support us in the process.


Rare vinyl LPs and CDs from over 1,000 independent sellers


CDs, Vinyl, Blu-Ray DVDS, Prime membership, Alexa, SONOS and more


Specializing in high resolution and CD-quality downloads


Specializing in music, movies and video games


Marketplace for new, used, and vintage instruments and gear