Chad McCullough & Bram Weijters: Abstract Quantities

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
Chad McCullough & Bram Weijters: Abstract Quantities
Trumpeter Chad McCullough debuted as a leader in 2009 with the superb Dark Wood, Dark, Water (Origin Records). He's stayed busy ever since, recording with The Kora Band—inspired by the sounds of Africa—Tunnel Six, and the two horn, chordless The Spin Quartet, along with two previous modern jazz sets on Origin Records on which he teamed as a co-leader with Belgian pianist Bram Weijters, Imaginary Sketches (2011) and Urban Nightingale (2012). At hand now is the pair's third offering, Abstract Quantities.

This is a Belgian/American quartet. McCullough and drummer John Bishop represent the United States, with bassist Piet Verbist and pianist/co-leader Bram Weijters hailing from Belgium. Weijters is a commanding presence on the piano—passionate and percussive on the set's opener, "Billions." McCullough's trumpet displays the purest of tones on this propulsive piece, with Verbist and Bishop crafting an unsettled and turbulent rhythm. Weijters' solo reveals a knack for intriguing story telling, a talent he shares with McCullough.

Eight out of eleven tunes on Abstract Qualities come from Weijters' pen. Three are written by McCullough, including the wistful and reflective "Little Song (for Mirthe)." It's a tune of immensely graceful quartet interplay and a measured majesty. The group has way of sounding larger than a foursome, perhaps from the bright colors and the intricate and expansive tapestry that Bishop lays down on this gorgeous song.

The jazz quartet featuring a trumpet and a rhythm section is historically represented most potently by pianist Herbie Hancock's masterful Empyrean Isles (Blue Note Records, 1965), featuring trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, and Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko's ECM Records recordings with the Marcin Wasilewski Trio, Suspended Night (2004) Lotano (2006). With three recordings under their belts, and the music evolving in its beauty, mystery and originality, the Chad McCullough/Bram Weijters group is pushing into that classic territory.

Track Listing

Billions; Still More; Mr. Rubato; Glorious Traffic Jam; Hesitation; The Same Prelude; The Same But Different; Little Song (for Mirthe); Winter's Lament; Before Acceptance; Acceptance or Denial.


Chad McCullough: trumpet; Bram Weijters: piano, keyboards; Piet Verbist: bass; John Bishop: drums.

Album information

Title: Abstract Quantities | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Origin Records

Post a comment about this album


Jazz Near Boise
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Get App | More...

Shop Amazon


Blessings and Blues
Neil Gonsalves Trio
Socially Distanced Duos
Jeff Pearring/Pearring Sound
Matthew Shipp / Whit Dickey
Rachel Musson
Invisible Words
Falkner Evans
Bob Mintzer & WDR Big Band Cologne
Another Land
Dave Holland


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.