McCoy Tyner: 13th House


Sign in to view read count
McCoy Tyner: 13th House Piano master McCoy Tyner's latest release, 13th House, is a truly unusual recording that deserves particular attention. Mr. Tyner's scintillating, rapid fire eighth notes in the right hand, the subterranean rumbles from the piano's lower register, and of course, the thundering chords that have made his sound instantly recognizable to generations of admirers are all here in abundance. That's enough to warrant interest all by itself. But 13th House places Mr. Tyner in a large ensemble setting, playing modal compositions typically associated with smaller units.

13th House has an intriguing ensemble sound, made all the more so by the fact that the recording was done in 1980. The liner notes do not explain how a recording by a musician of Mr. Tyner's stature stayed out of circulation for 23 years, and deadline pressures precluded further inquiry. In any event, the band sounds like a ‘80s vintage big band. Although a few choices might be made differently today, it is hardly a criticism that the recording sounds like it was done when it was.

The accomplished supporting players bring off both demanding ensemble passages and solos in an organic, integrated way that gives 13th House a consistent, atmospheric quality. The liner notes single out the underappreciated trumpeter Kamau Muata Adilifu (Charles Sullivan) and saxophonist Joe Ford for special mention, and deservedly so. That said, bassist Ron Carter, drummer Jack DeJohnette and percussionists Airto and Dom Um Romão are particularly responsible for the terrific energy that runs through 13th House. The percussion work on "Love Samba" is astonishing.

Confirmed McCoy Tyner fans and big band devotees will gravitate toward 13th House on general principle, but others will certainly find this recording interesting and worthy on its own terms.

Track Listing: 1. Short Suite (Tyner) - 7:46 2. 13th House (Heath) - 5:58 3. Search for Peace (Tyner) - 7:33 4. Love Samba (Tyner) - 8:38 5. Leo Rising (Foster) - 9:13

Personnel: Daniel Ponce - Percussion Marcus Belgrave - Trumpet, Flugelhorn John Blake - Violin Ron Carter - Bass, Soloist Paquito D'Rivera - Sax (Alto), Sax (Soprano) Jack DeJohnette - Drums, Soloist Ricky Ford - Reeds, Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor), Wind, Soloist Chico Freeman - Sax (Tenor) Slide Hampton - Trombone, Arranger, Soloist Hubert Laws - Flute, Piccolo, Soloist Bob Stewart - Tuba Avery Sharpe - Bass Airto Moreira - Percussion, Conga, Soloist McCoy Tyner - Piano, Arranger, Soloist, Remix Supervision Jonathan Abramowitz - Cello Kamau Adilifu - Flugelhorn Oscar Barashear - Trumpet Julien Barber - Viola Ignacio Berroa - Drums Oscar Brashear - Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Soloist Joe Ford - Flute, Reeds, Sax (Alto), Sax (Soprano), Wind, Soloist Frank Foster - Clarinet, Reeds, Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor), Wind, Soloist Bobby Hutcherson - Marimba, Vibraphone Harold Kohon - Violin Jesse Levine - Viola Karen Milne - Violin Kermit Moore - Cello Dom Um Romao - Percussion, Conga Elliott Rosoff - Violin Greg Williams - French Horn

Year Released: 2003 | Record Label: Fantasy Jazz | Style: Straight-ahead/Mainstream


More Articles

Read June CD/LP/Track Review June
by Karl Ackermann
Published: February 19, 2017
Read The Final Concert CD/LP/Track Review The Final Concert
by John Sharpe
Published: February 19, 2017
Read Desire & Freedom CD/LP/Track Review Desire & Freedom
by Glenn Astarita
Published: February 19, 2017
Read On Hollywood Boulevard CD/LP/Track Review On Hollywood Boulevard
by Budd Kopman
Published: February 19, 2017
Read The Motorman's Son CD/LP/Track Review The Motorman's Son
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: February 18, 2017
Read "Ocean of Storms" CD/LP/Track Review Ocean of Storms
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: February 4, 2017
Read "Guitar Fantasies" CD/LP/Track Review Guitar Fantasies
by Hrayr Attarian
Published: November 2, 2016
Read "Lab 2016" CD/LP/Track Review Lab 2016
by Jack Bowers
Published: November 3, 2016
Read "Instants Of Time" CD/LP/Track Review Instants Of Time
by Hrayr Attarian
Published: March 4, 2016
Read "All My Treasures" CD/LP/Track Review All My Treasures
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: November 20, 2016
Read "Checkpoint" CD/LP/Track Review Checkpoint
by Glenn Astarita
Published: April 16, 2016

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!