Onaje Allan Gumbs: Remember Their Innocence (2005)

By Published: | 4,763 views
How we rate: our writers tend to review music they like within their preferred genres.

Onaje Allan Gumbs: Remember Their Innocence
In our adult-denigrating society, I always cringe whenever I encounter an album that's "for the children." Like books in which the authors claim that part of the proceeds will be donated to charity, it's a certain bet that the there is some defect that the producers are hoping the patina of good will and charity will obviate and make "critic-proof." That is certainly the case here, for this album is a compilation of mostly banal smooth jazz ditties that dull the mind and disengage the spirit.

Gumbs is a talented pianist, to be sure, and I suspected that this CD was forced on him by the record label to attract some nonexistent "crossover" audience; however, since the Ejano label is run by the pianist himself, the damage appears to be self-inflicted. The best that can be said of the CD is that it has the feel of a second-rate Dave Grusin imitator.

Indeed, the title song, "Remember Their Innocence," featuring a melody doubled by single-line guitar and piano, I could have sworn was scene cutaway music from The Fabulous Baker Boys. There are a couple of nice tunes included, however, and the best of the lot is undoubtedly "Sol Brilho," a swinging samba featuring guitarist Romero Lumbambo of Trio da Paz and the ever reliable alto saxophonist Sadao Watanabe.

Other featured artists include Branice McKenzie, a serviceable singer who does a decent job on the torch song "Maybe Next Year" that has changes similar to those of "How Long Has This Been Going On?". Eddie Allen presents a nice straight-ahead trumpet solo on "Innerchange."

Track Listing: 1. Prologue; 2. Healing Zone 3. Remember Their Innocence 4. Sol Brilho (Sunshine of Dreams) 5. Innerchange 6. Maybe Next Year 7. All I Hear (Quiet Passion) 8. Virgo 9. Crystal Images 10. You Just Don't Know 11. Playtime 12. Shadowlight 13. Your Love 14. Epilogue

Personnel: Onaje Allan Gumbs, piano; Roger Byam, saxophone; Kenny Davis, bass; Billy Kilson, drums; Lenny Argese, guitar; Sadao Watanabe, alto saxophone; Romero Lumbambo, guitar; Gregoire Maret, harmonica; Cafe, percussion; Eddie Allen, trumpet; George Gray, drums; Branice McKenzie, vocals; Miriam Sullivan, bass, Sharrif Simmons, spoken word; Vince Ector, drums; Marcus McLaurine, bass; Dennis Collins, vocals

Record Label: Ejano Records

Style: Contemporary/Smooth

Shop For Jazz Music

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus


Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW

Enter it twice.
To the weekly jazz events calendar

Enter the numbers in the graphic
Enter the code in this picture

Reset password.

Log in

One moment, you will be redirected shortly.
Email Local Jazz Events!

Email Local Jazz Events

or search site with Google