All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Big Band Report

Swingin' on a Riff . . . Hangin' by a Thread?

By Published: June 14, 2013
Tracks: Desiderata; Theme for Tima; Letter to a Friend; Sleeping Ships; In the Westside; Evening Song; Love You Madly; September Boy; Silent Night; You Made a Good Move.

Personnel: Kirill Bubyakin: co-leader, alto sax, flute; Serge Bogdanov: co-leader, arranger, baritone sax, bass clarinet; Roman Rogkov: trumpet; Serge Margolin: trumpet; Akeksey Dmitriev: trumpet; Roman Kvachev: trumpet; Maria Art: alto sax (2-8, 10); Andrey Blinchevskiy: alto sax (1, 9); Juriy Bogatirev: tenor sax; Vyacheslav Ipatov: tenor sax; Konstantin Semenov: trombone; Alex Kozlov: trombone; Pavel Tsigankov: trombone; Valentin Patsuk: trombone; Andrey Zimovets: piano; Nick Zatolochniy: bass; Gregoriy Voskoboynik: bass (1, 9); Egor Krukovskih: drums. Special guests—David Goloschekin: flugelhorn, vibraphone; Igor Butman: tenor, soprano sax.

The Very Thought of You

Tracks: The Very Thought of You; Everything Happens to Me; Someone to Watch Over Me; You Go to My Head; Smile; That Old Feeling; Embraceable You; Polka Dots and Moonbeams; I'm Through with Love; But Beautiful; Nevertheless; Moon River; Try a Little Tenderness; It Had to Be You.

Personnel: Ian McDougall: trombone, arranger; Rick Wilkins: arranger; Oliver Gannon: guitar; Ron Johnson: piano; Neil Swainson: bass; Craig Scott: drums; Roger Cole: solo oboe. String orchestra led by Rebecca Whitling.


Tracks: Kansas City Child; Central Avenue; Dizzy Gillespie; Randy Weston; Solo Saxophone Introduction; Detroit / Kingston; Homecoming; "Let Me Not Lose My Dream."

Personnel: Geof Bradfield: tenor, soprano sax, bass clarinet; Victor Garcia: trumpet, flugelhorn, percussion; Joel Adams: trombone; Jeff Parker: guitar; Ryan Cohan: piano; Clark Sommers: bass; George Fludas: drums, percussion; Maggie Burrell: vocal (7).

Southwest Portals

Tracks: Away West; Echoes of the Grassland; Coronado's Dream; Days of August; Desert Flower; Summer Passage; Arcangel; Wind and Sand; Prairie Fugue.

Personnel: Bruce Lofgren: composer, arranger, guitar; Doug Livingston: pedal steel guitar; Mike Flick: acoustic bass; Jack LeCompte: drums, percussion.

comments powered by Disqus