All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Record Label Profiles

Rivorecords: Blue Notes from Buenos Aires

By Published: May 15, 2013
Justo Lo Prete's belief that it is possible to combine spontaneity and careful arrangements is proven on this session, which has all the charm of a blowing session and the sustainable quality of a work of art. "What's New?" The title asks and one could be tempted to answer "not much," but in the world of Rivorecords this is certainly a good thing. Here's a deep respect for the American hard bop tradition that avoids the pitfalls of pastiche.

Gustavo Musso

Our Song


In a way, the whole catalog of Rivorecords is a tribute to the American tradition of standards and the way they were stretched and enchanted on the jazz labels of the 50s and 60s. As Justo Lo Prete says: "I like classic labels in the vein of Riverside, Prestige, Contemporary, Pacific Jazz and certainly Blue Note."

Gustavo Musso's record Our Song is a homage to the most important artist that recorded for Lester Koenig's Contemporary label: Art Pepper
Art Pepper
Art Pepper
1925 - 1982
sax, alto

Musso plays in a quartet with pianist Francisco Lo Vuolo and the rhythm section from Paula Shocron's trio: bassist Jerónimo Carmona and drummer Eloy Michelini and, of course, he plays alto saxophone throughout the whole session.

There's only one composition by Pepper, which is the title track, and one could have hoped for a version of a signature Pepper-ballad like "Patricia," but instead Musso chooses to spread his Pepper-stardust on standards like "Here's That Rainy Day" and "Lover Man" and it's almost uncanny how closely he can resemble Pepper's adroit phrasings and the cool fire of his tone. Like Pepper, Musso knows that good music should tell a good story and this is also the case in general for Rivorecords. When all comes to all, there's no need to intellectualize it more than necessary or as Justo Lo Prete says: "just listen to the music and enjoy it. Keep things simple. Just jazz standards; no science behind."

There might not be a lot science behind the music, but it certainly has body and soul. Rivorecords is all about classy packaging, superior sound and tested material interpreted by true artists. It's the classic sound of Blue Note coming from Buenos Aires.

Tracks and Personnel

Solo Piano en Argentina

Tracks: More Than You Know; Goodbye Mr. Evans; In Your Own Sweet Way; Pee Wee / Heaven Dance; Infant Eyes; Habiba.

Personnel: Kirk Lightsey: piano.

Goodbye: Solo Piano

Tracks: Soul Eyes; Everything Happens To Me; Whisper Not; Danny Boy; When You're Smiling; Fly Me to the Moon; In The Wee Small Hours of the Morning; I'm Getting Sentimental Over You; Up Jumped Spring; Goodbye.

Personnel: Adrián Iaies: piano.

Light Blue

Tracks: Fire Waltz; Petite Fleur; Dewey Square; Moment's Notice; Light Blue; Invitation; My Old Flame, Step Tempest; Somebody Loves Me; Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams.

Personnel: Ernesto Jodos: piano; Jerónimo Carmona: bass; Pepi Taveira: drums.


Tracks: Yesterdays; The Very Thought of You; Local 47; Monk's Mood; Easy to Love; Segment; Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen; The Eye of the Hurricane; My Funny Valentine.

Personnel: Francisco Lo Vuolo: piano; Cristian Bortoli: bass; Eloy Michelini: drums.

Our Delight

Tracks: The End of a Love Affair; There's No You; Soultrane; Our Delight; So Tired; There's A Small Hotel; One Morning in May; Lover Come Back to Me; Change Partners; Melancholia.

Personnel: Paula Shocron: piano; Jerónimo Carmona: bass; Eloy Michelini: drums.

Serenade in Blue

Tracks: Jeannine; Afternoon in Paris; Nica's Dream; Serenade in Blue; Fine and Dandy; SP; My Ideal; Willow Grove; The Star-crossed Lovers.

Personnel: Paula Shocron: piano; Juan Manuel Bayón: bass; Eloy Michelini: drums.

Warm Valley

Track Listing: Bird Song; Elvin; The Nearness of You; Blues for My Hero; Warm Valley; Lover; Stablemates.

Personnel: Mariano Loiacono: flugelhorn; Sebastián Loiacono: tenor saxophone; Paula Shocron: piano; Jerónimo Carmona: bass; Eloy Michelini: drums.

What's New?

Tracks: It's You Or No One; Johnny Come Lately; What's New?; Connecting; I Fall in Love Too Easily; Blue Monk; Work Song; My Foolish Heart.

Personnel: Mariano Loiacono: trumpet, flugelhorn; Gustavo Musso: tenor saxophone; Sebastián Loiacono: alto saxophone; Ramiro Flores: alto saxophone; Francisco Lo Vuolo: piano; Jerónimo Carmona: bass; Pepi Taveira: drums.

Our Song

Tracks: Four Brothers; You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To; Here's That Rainy Day; Our Song; So in Love; I Can't Give You Anything But Love; Lover Man.

Personnel: Gustavo Musso: alto saxophone; Francisco Lo Vuolo: piano; Jerónimo Carmona; Eloy Michelini: drums.

Photo Credit

Horacio Sbaraglia

comments powered by Disqus