All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

From the Inside Out

Requiems, Remodels & Remembrances

By Published: March 28, 2013
Scott's trumpet turns burn with pure star quality. His hot howling wind uses the symmetrical piano/bass underrhythm as kindling to set "No Church in the Wild" (Jay Z & Kanye West) on fire. The somber shades of "Marvin's Room" (Drake) allows Scott to channel the starkly dark, profound melancholy of Miles Davis (through Davis' breathy and worn yet regal "Time After Time" sound) as he lightly tosses on drummer Williams' quicksilver, post-hip-hop waves, ornamented by acoustic piano like the starlight of a perfectly silent night.

Tracks and Personnel:

Show of Strength

Tracks: Count on You; Take a Chance on Me, Baby; Storm Warning; Can You Read Between the Lines?; Cross Eyed Woman; Little Juke Joint; 24 Hour Blues; Valley of Tears; Since I Been Loving You; I Want to Get You Back; What Does It Take to Please You?; Feel Like Going Home.

Personnel: Michael Burks: guitars, vocals; Wayne Sharp: organ, piano, background vocals; Terrence Grayson: bass, background vocals; Chuck "Popcorn" Louden: drums, background vocals; Roosevelt Purifoy: keyboards; Scott Dirks: harmonica.

The Miles Davis Quintet—Live in Europe 1969: The Bootleg Series Vol. 2

Tracks: CD1: Introduction; Directions; Miles Runs the Voodoo Down; Milestones; Footprints; 'Round Midnight; It's About That Time; Sanctuary; The Theme; CD2: Introduction; Directions; Spanish Key; I Fall in Love Too Easily; Masqualero; Miles Runs the Voodoo Down; No Blues; Nefertiti; Sanctuary; The Theme; CD3: Introduction; Bitches Brew; Paraphernalia; Nefertiti; Masqualero; This; DVD: Introduction; Directions; Bitches Brew; It's About That Time; I Fall In Love Too Easily; Sanctuary; The Theme.

Personnel: Miles Davis: trumpet; Wayne Shorter: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone; Chick Corea: electric piano, acoustic piano; Dave Holland: bass; Jack DeJohnette: drums.

Easy Star's Thrillah

Tracks: Wanna Be Startin' Something (featuring JoWil and Ruff Scott); Baby Be Mine (featuring The Green); The Girl is Mine (featuring Mojo Morgan and Steel Pulse); Thriller (featuring Mikey General and Spragga Benz); Beat It (featuring Michael Rose); Billie Jean (featuring Luciano); Human Nature (featuring Cas Haley); P.Y.T (Pretty Young Thing, featuring Kirsty Rock); The Lady in My Life (featuring Christopher Martin); Dub It; Close to Midnight.

Personnel: Michael Godwasser: guitars, clavinet, synthesizer, percussion, melodica, glockenspiel, backing vocals, programming; Yossi Fine: bass; Joe Tomino: drums, synaire; Elenna Canlas: piano, organ, electric piano, synthesizer, clavinet, backing vocals; Victor Axelrod: clavinet, organ; Shlomi Alon: tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone; Yair Slutzki: trombone; Sefi Zisling: trumpet; Andy Farag: percussion; Gavriel Friesem: percussion, binghi drumming; Shelton Garner, Jr.: guitar, backing vocals; Ivan Katz: drums, electric drums; Amit Sagie: guitar, binghi drumming; Buford O'Sullivan: trombone; Jenny Hill: tenor saxophone; Wayne Wiggum: synthesizer; Kirsty Rock: backing vocals; Joanne Williams: backing vocals; Paul Schellack: backing vocals; Tali Goldwasser: backing vocals; Simone Smith: backing vocals.

Cover Art

Tracks: Twice (Little Dragon); No Church in the Wild (Jay Z and Kanye West); Africa (D'Angelo); Fly or Die (N.E.R.D.); Oceans (Pearl Jam); Refractions in the Plastic Pulse (Stereolab); Marvin's Room (Drake); Come Smoke My Herb (Meshell Ndegeocello); Perth (Bon Iver); Thank You (Dido).

Personnel: Logan Richardson: alto saxophone, flute; Walter Smith III: bass clarinet, tenor saxophone; Matthew Stevens: guitar; Gerald Clayton: piano, Fender Rhodes; Kris Bowers: Fender Rhodes; Ben Williams: bass; Jamire Williams: drums; Christian Scott: trumpet.

comments powered by Disqus