All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Big Band Caravan

Albert–Hobbs Big Band / Jeff Hamilton–DePaul University Jazz Ensemble / Steve Taylor Big Band

By Published: December 11, 2012
Chisholm, by the way, easily qualifies as a young lion; as recently as 2009 he earned a Down Beat magazine Student Music Award as outstanding collegiate soloist, and is now pursuing an advanced degree in music at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY. Besides leading his own band, Chisholm has performed on five albums by the Salt Lake Alternative Jazz Orchestra. Word is that he has recorded a second album, Calligraphy. Young as he is, with Radioactive Chisholm has moved comfortably into the role of leader.

Tracks and Personnel

Love Remembered

Tracks: For Mr. C (Scott C. Calloway); Scratch That Itch (for Josie Lee Rinker); Querida; Monkeybone; Love Remembered; Juggernaut (for Dave Albert in Memory of Buddy Rich); Count Me In; Ain't Got No Money (for Donald McCoy); Infatuation; Carolina; Summertime Down South (for Jean & Charlie Hobbs); Too Many Reasons; Take Me in Your Arms.

Personnel: Dave Albert: co-leader, drums; Brian Hobbs: co-leader, keyboards; Patrik Skogh: trumpets, flugelhorns; Wojtek Goral: saxophones, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet; Staffan Finden: trombones; Mikael Berg Andersson: guitar (6, 7, 10, 12, 13); Andy Pfeiler: guitar (8); Mikko Paavala: guitar (3); Jan Adefelt: acoustic bass; Tom Beimel: electric bass; Christer Jansson: percussion (4, 5, 9); Jeremy Hobbs: percussion (6); Acam Hobbs: percussion (6); Glen Ingram: tenor sax solo (9); Peter Getz: vocals.

Time Passes On

Tracks: Shiny Stockings; Samba de Martelo; Time Passes On; Days of Wine and Roses; The Serpent's Tooth; Indiana; Happy Days; Baby Steps; Suggestions; Nature Boy.

Personnel: Bob Lark: director; Chuck Parrish: trumpet, flugelhorn; Tim Bales: trumpet, flugelhorn; Marquis Hill: trumpet, flugelhorn; Paul Dietrich: trumpet, flugelhorn; Kazumasa Terashima: trumpet, flugelhorn; Corbin Andrick: alto, soprano sax, flute; Billy Wolfe: alto sax, flute; Rocky Yera: tenor sax, clarinet; Will Brocker: tenor sax, clarinet; Mark Hiebert: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Andy Baker: trombone; Andrew Thompson: trombone; Andrew Johnston: trombone; Jeff Livorsi: bass trombone; Justin Thomas: vibraphone; Brad Macdonald: piano; Kevin Brown: guitar; Dan Parker: bass; Keith Brooks: drums (7, 9); Nick Kabat: drums (8, 10). Special guest artist—Jeff Hamilton: composer (2, 3), drums (1-6).

Live in London

Tracks: Conspiracy Theory; Wind Machine; Party Time; Samba del Gringo; Cajun Cooking; Apron Strings; Count Bubba; The Chicken; Ode to Billie Jo; Too Close for Comfort; Birdland; West Side Story medley; TV Blues.

Personnel: Steve Taylor: leader, drums; Ed Benstead: trumpet (2, 5, 8, 9, 11-13); Tom Walsh: trumpet (1, 3, 4, 7); Pete Horsful: trumpet (1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 12, 13); Andy Gray: trumpet (1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11-13); J.P. Gervasoni: trumpet (2, 8, 9, 11-13); George Hogg: trumpet (10); Reuben Fowler: trumpet (10); Dave Wood: trumpet (5); Martin Grisdale: trumpet (5); Rob Sell: alto sax (1, 3, 4, 5, 7); Richard Sheppard: alto sax, tenor sax; Lucas Dodd: alto sax; Vasilis Xenopoulos: tenor sax, soprano sax (3, 5, 10); Dan Faulkner: tenor, soprano sax; Tom Leaper: tenor sax (1, 4, 6); Mike Ruble: baritone sax (2, 3, 5, 7-13); Tom Andrews: baritone sax (1, 4, 6); Ben Greenslade-Stanton: trombone; Chris Fry: trombone (2, 8, 9, 11-13); Pat Johns: trombone (5); Sam Crooks: trombone (1, 4, 6); Nathan Gash: trombone; Jamie Salisbury: piano (2, 8, 9, 11, 13); Hilary Cameron: piano (1, 3-7, 10); Rob Statham: bass; James Eager: bass (3, 7); Dan Farrant: bass (5); Josie Frater: vocals, percussion.

Facing the Mirror

Tracks: One by One by One; (of) Time and Time Past; Stealing Space; Dancing in Circles; Sometime; Beyond the Fall; The Path of Innocence; Chorale.

Personnel: Dave Rivello: composer, arranger, conductor; Brian Shaw: trumpet; Mike Kaupa: trumpet, flugelhorn; Eli Asher: trumpet, flugelhorn; Matt Pivec: soprano sax, flute; Jose Encarnacion: tenor sax, flute, clarinet; Dean Keller: clarinet, bass clarinet; Phil Ostrander: trombone; Dan Pierce: trombone; Jeff Meyer: tuba; Red Wierenga: piano; Malcolm Kirby: bass; Ted Poor: drums, percussion.


Tracks: Radioactive; Behind the Mask; The Jiggler; Montana; In the Belly of the Sun.

Personnel: Dave Chisholm: leader, composer, arranger, trumpet, flugelhorn; Reed Lecheminant: trumpet, flugelhorn; Ryan Hunter: trumpet, flugelhorn; Andrew Kuhnhausen: alto sax, soprano sax, clarinet; Adam Leishman: bass clarinet, flute; Lance Major: alto sax, clarinet; David Halliday: tenor sax, flute; Joe Rudd: tenor sax, flute; Clint Roberts: flute; Marco Blackmore: baritone sax; Joe Chisholm: trombone; Ryan Shepherd: trombone; Donn Schaefer: trombone, bass trombone; Derek Howa: piano; David Salmon: guitar; Denson Angulo: bass; Steve Lyman: drums.

comments powered by Disqus