All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Big Band Caravan

John MacLeod & His Rex Hotel Orchestra / Tim Davies Big Band / New England Jazz Ensemble

By Published: September 3, 2011
The ensemble itself (some of whose members look as though they may be among Tenner's students) is, as noted, sharp and persuasive, the soloists polished and articulate, sounding not at all like a school-based orchestra, so perhaps that is not the case. On the other hand, Tenner may simply be a superb teacher. Whatever the case, the ensemble delves deeply into every tune, bringing out the best in Tenner's already inventive charts, ably abetted by the studio recording's first-rate sound quality. Besides Ehwald, featured soloists are pianist Matt Klein ("10117 Berlin") and alto Nico Lohmann ("Choral," "Filmmusik"). Others who test the water and find it to their liking include alto Katja Gangoly, tenor Uli Kempendorff, baritone Oliver Busch, trumpeters Nikolaus Neuser, Jotham Bleibeg and Donat Kubrinski, trombonist Stefan Ulrich, bass trombonist Otwin Zipp and bassist Giorgi Kiknadze. Drummer Konrad Ulrich presides over the ensemble's perceptive rhythm section (percussionist Robby Geerken and electric bassist Thomas Stieger are added on "Tunisia").

Another German big band, another winner in every respect. The names may be unsung but everything else is precisely on-key. In other words, this band can play.

Tracks and Personnel

Our First Set

Tracks: The Great Danes; B.S. Blues; I'm in the Mood for Love; Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered; Laura; Marta's Vineyard; Monkey on the Roof; Song for Rachel; Sometimes You Feel Like That.

Personnel: John MacLeod: leader, composer, arranger, cornet, flugelhorn; Jason Logue: trumpet, flugelhorn; Dave Dunlop: trumpet, flugelhorn; Brian O'Kane: trumpet, flugelhorn; Jon Challoner: trumpet, flugelhorn; John Johnson: alto sax, flute; Andy Ballantyne: alto sax, flute; Perry White: tenor sax, flute; Bob DeAngelis: tenor sax, clarinet; Bob Leonard: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Alastair Kay: trombone; Rob Somerville: trombone; Terry Promane: trombone; Colin Murray: bass trombone; James MacDonald: French horn; Janet Anderson: French horn; David Braid: piano; Joey Goldstein: guitar; Jim Vivian: bass; Ted Warren: drums. Special guest—Mike Murley: tenor sax (9).


Tracks: Counting to Infinity; Hanging by a Thread; Dialmentia; Pythagatha; Katie's New Handbag; Caravan (—dalized); Gubernatorial Recall; Blacknail; Elegy.

Personnel: Tim Davies: leader, composer, arranger, drums; Jon Papenbrook: trumpet; Bijon Watson: trumpet; Rich Hofmann: trumpet; Bill Dowling: trumpet; Ken Bausano: trumpet; Steve Wade: trumpet; Bill Churchville: trumpet; Mike Acosta, Mike Nelson, Lee Secard, Jennifer Hall, Frank Fontaine, Jim Honeyman, James King, Alex Budman: reeds; Jacques Voyemant: trombone; Kerry Loeschen: trombone; Martha Catlin: trombone; Rick Blanc: trombone; Alan Steinberger: keyboards; Brian Byrne: keyboards; Mark Cally: guitar; Andrew Synowiec: guitar; Steve Pandis: bass; Jeff Novack: bass; M.B. Gordy: percussion. Guest soloists—Martin Kay: alto sax; Sal Cracchiolo: trumpet; Andrew Shulman: cello; Aloe Blacc: MC; Anita Thomas: didjeridoo.

It's a Grand Night for Swinging

Tracks: Introduction; The Summer Knows; My One and Only Love; Invitation; Hazel's Hips; Lady Be Good / Disappointed; Jeannine; Jazz Folk; Risky Business; Labour Day; A Grand Night for Swinging.

Personnel: Jeff Holmes: trumpet, flugelhorn; Steve Fitzko: trumpet, flugelhorn; Phil Person: trumpet, flugelhorn; Hank Zorn: trumpet, flugelhorn; John Mastroianni: alto, soprano sax, clarinet, flute, piccolo; Bob DePalma: alto sax, clarinet, flute; Mike Leventhal: tenor sax, clarinet; Larry Dvorin: tenor sax, clarinet; Lisa Ladone: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Tim Atherton: trombone; Dave Sporny: trombone; Ben Griffin: trombone; Dave Wampler: bass trombone; Walt Gwardyak: music director, arranger, piano; Steve Bulmer: bass; Jon Mele: drums. Guest artists—John Abercrombie: guitar; Giacomo Gates: vocals; Ali Ryerson: flute.

The Other Duke: Tribute to Duke Pearson

Tracks: Mississippi Dip; Chili Peppers; Cristo Redentor; Jeannine; Big Bertha; Sweet Honey Bee; Duke's Mixture; Sudel; Ready Rudy; New Time Shuffle.

Personnel: Albert Leusink: trumpet; Carlos Francis: trumpet; Audrey Welber: alto sax; Paul Carlson: tenor sax, flute; Jeff Hackworth: baritone sax; Rob Susman: trombone; Rob Edwards: trombone; Boo Reiners: guitar; John Bauers: piano; Dave Post: bass; Paul Pizzuti: drums.

10117 Berlin

Tracks: All the Things You Are; Juhuuu!; 10117 Berlin; March in Edinburgh; Lassen; So treiben wir den Winter aus; A Night in Tunisia; Choral; Filmmusik; Fever.

comments powered by Disqus