All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Big Band Caravan

Buselli-Wallarab Jazz Orchesta / Vaughn Wiester / Chie Imaizumi

By Published: October 7, 2010
Personnel: Mark Buselli co-leader, trumpet, flugelhorn; Brent Wallarab: co-leader, conductor, trombone, composer, arranger; Joey Tartell, Jeff Conrad, Mike Hackett: trumpet, flugelhorn; Ned Boyd, Rob Dixon, Frank Glover, Tom Meyer, Mike Stricklin: reeds; Loy Hetrick, Jason Miller: trombone; Richard Dole: bass trombone; Celeste Holler-Seraphinoff: horn; Luke Gillespie: piano; Jack Helsey: bass; Bryson Kern: drums.

Jazz Tempo

Tracks: Bright Eyes; Sugarloaf Mountain; The Days of Wine and Roses; Indian Summer; Camel Driver; The Midnight Sun Will Never Set; Low Down; Just a Closer Walk with Thee; Evil Eyes; Basie; Turn Out the Stars; Souse of the Border; Frame for the Blues; It Only Happens Every Time.

Personnel: Vaughn Wiester: leader, trombone; Erik Gimbel, Larry Everhart, Jim Powell, Bob Larson, Phil Winnard: trumpet; John Vermeulen, Jay Miglia, Bryan Olsheski, Joe Graziosi, Bob LeBeau: reeds; Ryan Hamilton, Matt Ellis, John Hall, Bill England: trombone; Sean Maloney: tuba; Scott Strohm, John Busic: horn; Jim Luellen: piano; William Flynn: guitar; Larry Cook: bass; Steve Schaar: drums.Guest artists: Kris Keith: alto flute (5); Art Silva: alto sax (6).

A Time of New Beginnings

Tracks: My Heartfelt Gratitude; Information Overload; Fear of the Unknown; A Time of New Beginnings; Run for Your Life; Today; Sharing the Freedom; Many Happy Days Ahead; Fun & Stupid Song.

Personnel: Chie Imaizumi: leader, composer, arranger; Greg Gisbert, Terell Stafford: trumpet, flugelhorn; Randy Brecker: trumpet (2); Steve Wilson: alto, soprano sax, flute; Scott Robinson: tenor, soprano, sopranino sax, clarinet, flute; Gary Smulyan: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Steve Davis: trombone; Mike Abbott: guitar; Tamir Hendelman: piano; John Clayton: bass; Jeff Hamilton: drums (1, 3-6, 8, 9); Paul Romaine: drums (2, 7, 9).

Jimmy Heath: The Endless Search

Tracks: The Endless Search (Part 1: The Endless Search; Interlude; Part 2: Inside Your Heart; Part 3: Where It Started); Sleeves; Passage Noir; Haitian Fight Song; Creole Love Call.

Personnel: Clarence Acox, Michael Brockman: co-leaders; Cesar Amaral, Andy Omdahl, Dennis Haldane, Jay Thomas, Thomas Marriott: trumpet; Michael Brockman: alto, soprano sax, clarinet; Scott Macpherson: alto sax (6); Mark Taylor: alto, tenor sax; Hadley Caliman: tenor sax; Travis Ranney: tenor sax, clarinet; Bill Ramsay: baritone sax; Jon Hansen: tuba (5); Scott Brown, David Marriott Jr., Dan Marcus, Bill Anthony: trombone; David Bentley: bass trombone; Randy Halbertstadt, Bill Anschell: piano (5); Phil Sparks: bass; Clarence Acox: drums.

Detour Ahead

Tracks: There Is No Greater Love; Invitation; If You Never Come to Me; A Weaver of Dreams; Never Let Me Go; Jeannine; All Through the Night; All the Things You Are; Gentle Rain; A Beautiful Friendship; I'll Remember April; Detour Ahead.

Personnel: Jeff Oster: co-leader, vocals; Peter Welker: co-leader, trumpet, flugelhorn, arranger; Doug Morton: trumpet; Andrew Speight: alto sax, alto flute; Bob Roth: tenor sax; Scott Petersen, Doug Rowan: baritone sax; Bill Watrous, Scott Whitfield: trombone; Randy Vincent: guitar; Jeremy Cohen: strings; Doug Harmon: cello; Dave Mathews, Mark Levine: piano; Chris Amberger: bass; Kevin Dillon: drums; Celso Alberti: drums, percussion.

comments powered by Disqus