All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Serving jazz worldwide since 1995
All About Jazz: The web's most comprehensive jazz resource

Big Band Caravan

Gordon Goodwin / DePaul University / Wayne Bergeron / South Florida Jazz Orchestra

By Published: December 26, 2008
Pianist Blaine McGurty is spotlighted on synth on his arrangement of Jim Beard's "Fever," while drummer Adam Alesi, tenor Ken Moran and trombonist Harrison Kirk share center stage with Ries on "Think on It." Mull takes a perceptive turn on "Snapshot," as does Janer on "Scramble," with Moran, trumpeter Phil Fiorio and wordless chorus on Brian Havey's gossamer "Idle Thoughts," and with Alesi and pianist Nick Paul on Francois Mouton's elaborate "MRC." Paul, Kirk and Mull solo smartly with trumpeter Chase Sanborn on the amiable finale, vocalist Genevieve Artadi's boppish, well-grooved arrangement of Sonny Stitt's "Bud's Blues."

The album was recorded in two sessions, and in both cases the ensemble is well-rehearsed, the charts exemplary, the soloists bright and adaptable. Ries' presence at the second date is icing on the cake. A consistently rewarding album by any yardstick.

Tracks and Personnel

Act Your Age

Tracks: Hit the Ground Running; Watermelon Man; September; Yesterdays; Senor Mouse; Punta del Sol; Act Your Age; Chance Encounters; Backrow Politics; East Coast Envy; El Macho Muchacho; Gumbo Street.

Personnel: Gordon Goodwin: leader, piano, soprano sax, tenor sax; Wayne Bergeron, Dan Fornero, Dan Savant, Bob Summers: trumpet; Eric Marienthal: alto sax; Sal Lozano: alto sax, flute; Brian Scanlon: tenor sax; Jay Mason: bass clarinet; Andy Martin: trombone; Chick Corea: piano; (5); Dave Grusin: piano (6); Lee Ritenour, Andrew Synowiec: guitar; Rick Shaw: bass; Nathan East: electric bass; Bernie Dresel: drums; Brad Dutz: percussion, vibes; Patti Austin: vocal (3). Other personnel unlisted.

That Being Said

Tracks: The Marriott Connection; That Being Said; Don't Even Ask; 'Round Midnight; Centerpiece; The Beautiful One; Der Seiltanzer; Platitude; Ad Parnassum.

Personnel: Bob Lark: director; Jim McNeely: piano soloist (3, 4, 7, 9); Dan Jonas, Justin Surdyn, Joe Clark, Hiroyuki Takami, Bobby Goodrich: trumpet, flugelhorn; Dan Nicholson, Rick Deja: alto, soprano sax, flute; Anthony Bruno: tenor sax, flute; Drew Pierson: tenor sax, clarinet; Rich Carlson: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Bryant Scott, Ryan Kienstra, Andrew Zelm: trombone; Jared Lantzy: bass trombone; Ben Dockery: piano; Scott Hesse: guitar; Justin Thomas: vibraphone; Cory Biggerstaff: bass (1, 2, 5, 6, 8); Amalie Smith: bass (3, 4, 7, 9); Lawrence Haskin: drums; Milton Suggs: vocalist.

Music and Mistletoe

Tracks: God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen; Jingle Bells; Christmas Is the Warmest Day of the Year; We Three Kings; O Christmas Tree; Christmas Time Is Here; Santa Baby; The First Noel; It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas; Jolly Old St. Nicholas; Hark! The Herald Angels Sing; The Christmas Song; Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!; Silent Night; O Come All Ye Faithful; Jingle Bell Rock; I'll Be Home for Christmas; Winter Wonderland.

Personnel: Wayne Bergeron, Deb Wagner, Gary Slechta (7): trumpet, flugelhorn; Brad Warnaar: French horn; Andy Martin: trombone; Alan Kaplan: tuba; Christian Jacob: piano(3, 7); Dustin Higgins: guitar (10); Trey Henry, Ken Wild: bass (8, 9, 15, 16); Jon Friday: drums; Ray Brinker: drums (3, 13, 14, 17), percussion (2, 3, 8, 12, 15); Dan Blessinger: guiro (12 - 15). Special guest: Tierney Sutton: vocals (3, 13).


Tracks: Blues Gumbo; Role Models; Nature Boy; Siboney; Midnight Mood; Touch & Go; Blame It on My Youth; ...And the Basses Are Loaded; This Can't Be Love; Waltz for the Tikkaroo; Kong's Garden.

Personnel: Chuck Bergeron: music director, bass; Augie Haas, Jason Carder, Alex Norris, Rodrigo Gallardo: trumpet; Gary Keller: alto, soprano, tenor sax; Gary Lindsay: alto sax, clarinet, arranger; Ken Mattis, Jason Kush: tenor sax; Mike Brignola: baritone sax, bass clarinet; John Kricker, Dante Luciani, Steve Sigmund, Noah Bellamy: trombone; Joe Barati: bass trombone; Doug Bickel, Brian Murphy: piano; John Yarling: drums. Special guests: Charles Pillow, Kevin Mahogany, Nicole Yarling, Dana Paul, Ed Calle, Arturo Sandoval.

The Beat Goes On

Tracks: Away We Go; Conquest; Cute; The Beat Goes On; Caravan; Summertime; My Fair Lady; Blue Rondo a la Turk; In Stride; Me Too; I Get a Kick Out of You; Slaughter on 10th Avenue.

Personnel: Big Band: Frank Derrick: leader, drums; Augie Haas, Chris LaBarbera, Tom Stancampiano, Doug Michels: trumpet; Billy Ross, Dan Salmasian: alto sax; Ed Maina, Jim Hayward: tenor sax; Randy Emerick: baritone sax; John Kricker, Dante Luciani, Steve Sigmund: trombone; Jim Bermann: bass trombone; Mike Levine: piano; Lindsey Blair: guitar; Ranses Colon: acoustic, electric bass. Quintet: Frank Derrick: leader, drums; Billy Ross: tenor, soprano sax, flute; Melton Mustafa: trumpet, flugelhorn; George Caldwell: piano; Ranses Colon: bass (3, 5, 8); Chuck Bergeron: bass (2, 10, 11).

Across the Pond...

comments powered by Disqus