UMO Jazz Orchestra with Kenny Wheeler & Norma Winstone: One More Time

By Published: | 4,857 views
No stars How we rate: our writers tend to review music they like within their preferred genres.

One More Time is the latest by Finland’s eminent “UMO Jazz Orchestra”. And as a follow up to their noteworthy 1999 electric-Miles based release aptly titled “Electrifying Miles”, featuring trumpeter Tim Hagans, the band now performs alongside renowned trumpeter Kenny Wheeler and the extraordinary vocalist, Norma Winstone.

Wheeler composed all of these pieces as the music typifies the trumpeter’s familiar -soaring skyward – approach enhanced by his conveyance of yearning or soul-searching lines. On “The One More Time Suite”, the band pursues harmonious passages, augmented by captivating horn arrangements as Ms. Winstone counters the proceedings with crystalline wordless vocals. Here, the listener is treated to peaceable yet blossoming horn charts amid ambrosial unison choruses and memorably melodic soloing. Throughout, Winstone glides atop the often-complex arrangements while harmonizing with the horn section as Wheeler steers the band through stately themes and medium tempo swing vamps. With “Sea Lady”, Ms. Winstone’s airy vocals and poignant lyrics coalesce with Teemu Salminen’s lush flute soloing, while the horn section seamlessly maneuvers into the story line.

The overall production boasts a potpourri of melodic arrangements frequently accelerated by Wheeler’s commanding lines and equalized by Winstone’s spirited vocals. Yet, this band can swing with the best of them. - Basically, One More Time is a significant event, marked by a touch of class. Highly recommended!

* * * * 1/2 (out of * * * * *)


Kari Heinila; conductor: Jouni Jarvela; alto sax, soprano sax: Penitti Lahti; alto sax: Teemu Salminen; tenor sax, flute: Olli Ojajarvi; tenor sax: Pepa Paivinen; baritone sax, soprano sax: Jan Kohlin; trumpet, flugelhorn (lead): Timo Paasonen; trumpet, flugelhorn: Mikko Pettinen; trumpet, flugelhorn: Tero Saarti; trumpet, flugelhorn: Markku Veijonsuo; trombone (lead): Matti Lappalainen; trombone: Pekka Laukkanen; trombone: Mikael Langbacka; bass trombone: Markku Kanerva; guitar: Seppo Kantonen; piano: Pekka Sarmanto; bass: Markus Ketola; drums.

Special Guests: Kenny Wheeler; trumpet, flugelhorn: Norma Winstone; vocals.

(A Records)

Record Label: a/l/l

Style: Big Band

Shop For Jazz Music

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus


Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW

Enter it twice.
To the weekly jazz events calendar

Enter the numbers in the graphic
Enter the code in this picture

Reset password.

Log in

One moment, you will be redirected shortly.
Email Local Jazz Events!

Email Local Jazz Events

or search site with Google